IF YOU LIKED THIS GENRE…

Hi guys and welcome to ‘If you like this book, try this one!’ so let’s go! This month I’m trying out Genres instead of specific books!

IF YOU LIKED;

MYSTERY BOOKS

YOU’LL LIKE ;

TRULY DEVIOUS BY MAUREEN JOHNSON ( 4.5 STAR RATING )

Ellingham Academy is a famous private school in Vermont for the brightest thinkers, inventors, and artists. It was founded by Albert Ellingham, an early twentieth century tycoon, who wanted to make a wonderful place full of riddles, twisting pathways, and gardens. “A place,” he said, “where learning is a game.”

Shortly after the school opened, his wife and daughter were kidnapped. The only real clue was a mocking riddle listing methods of murder, signed with the frightening pseudonym “Truly, Devious.” It became one of the great unsolved crimes of American history.

True-crime aficionado Stevie Bell is set to begin her first year at Ellingham Academy, and she has an ambitious plan: She will solve this cold case. That is, she will solve the case when she gets a grip on her demanding new school life and her housemates: the inventor, the novelist, the actor, the artist, and the jokester. But something strange is happening. Truly Devious makes a surprise return, and death revisits Ellingham Academy. The past has crawled out of its grave. Someone has gotten away with murder.

The two interwoven mysteries of this first book in the Truly Devious series dovetail brilliantly, and Stevie Bell will continue her relentless quest for the murderers in books two and three.

AND HERE’S WHY;

First of all, who doesnt love a good myster? because I sure do! I think if you’re a fan of the classic who done it, but want a modern twist to it? This is SO the book for you! I loved the characters, and how one girl who WANTS to become a detective, finds out some really big things. I also liked that there were consequences for when she stepped over the lines because it made it feel real. Honestly the only thing I didn’t like about this book? was the cliff hanger ending!

TRIGGER WARNING: Death, a murderer running around.

until next time,
Sarah

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s